Because Family Really Don’t End With Blood

It’s World Mental Health Day. As a psychologist, this day carries an important message – the same message we all tried to convey in Family Don’t End With Blood. The Supernatural actors — Jared, Jensen, Misha, Mark, Kim, Briana, Ruth, Rachel, Gil, Osric, Rob, Matt and Jim — wrote their own chapters, about their own personal experience on the show and in life, in order to NOT be silent about the challenges we all face in life. They wrote courageously, especially as public figures who are often cautioned to be quiet about their struggles and present a perfect persona instead, about battling anxiety, depression, self doubt. About times when it was hard to keep going, and how they did just that. They shared their struggles because too often we all think that we’re the only one. The only one who feels this bad, the only one who’s this terrified, the only one who wants what we want or loves what we love. We all need the validation that comes from knowing that others have felt the same way. When those others are our favorite actors on our favorite show — or our fellow fans who share our passion — that validation carries even more weight. That’s why we all, fans and actors alike, wrote this book.

That picture at the top of the page? That’s Jared and Jensen expressing how they feel about each other’s chapters in FDEWB. Family Don’t End With Blood has been out for five months now, and in that time I’ve been privileged to hear hundreds and hundreds of stories from fellow fans about how reading those personal essays, in an actor’s or fan’s own words, has inspired someone else to keep going. I try to pass those on to Jared, Jensen, Misha and the other actors and fans who wrote chapters so they will know that when someone reads their words, they have an impact. They help someone feel less alone, or less ashamed, or less consumed with doubt or sadness. I can’t tell  you how much that means to all of them. Honestly, it was hard for them to write those chapters. It took a long time because it was important to them all to get it right, and it was very scary to put themselves out there like that.  But when you read their words, you know that they get it. You know there’s a real bond there, between actors and fans, that’s unique and rare and very special.

So on this day, remember that. Remember that You Are Not Alone. Hug someone in our #SPNFamily today, either in person or virtually.

 

Tell someone how you feel, and remember that many of your fellow SPNFamily have felt some of those same things.

Take Jared’s words to heart and Always Keep Fighting.

And remember that in this fandom, for both fans and actors, Family Don’t End With Blood.

–Lynn

A portion of proceeds goes to Random

Acts and Attitudes In Reverse

 

6 thoughts on “Because Family Really Don’t End With Blood

  • I read your words always when I need them most. I sat and cried because I needed this. Anxiety alot of times take over my life. I will AKF.

  • <3 I'm so grateful for the sheer guts it took for all of them to write and share their experiences. Especially Jared–I had to walk away from his chapter a couple of times on first reading, because of how familiar some of that felt. Thanks, Lynn, for showing us the beautiful heart of this fandom family.

  • I am reading this book, but I can’t keep it constantly. I often have to walk away from it, ’cause the painful parts hit me so hard. I cried a lot (sitting in an restaurant while waiting for a friend for lunch) and I smiled a lot, never thought I could be so proud of people I don’t know in persona, of their fights, their successess, their ways to deal with losses and failure. And also I never thought I could feel so belonging to a group of people that I actually want to be part of it like in a family. I’m looking forward to Jareds chapter because I already know it will mean a lot to me (dealing with episodes of depression – luckily less often and just episodes!)
    Thank you Lynn for this book, it’s a unique way to connect us all.

    • I am so glad that the emotional impact of the chapters resonates with you – even though sometimes it can be alot, everyone who wrote a chapter wanted their own strong emotions to really come through. So I’m glad that they did. I think you’ll find Jared’s chapter very very powerful. So glad you’re part of our #SPNFamily 🙂

Leave a Reply